The 44th SWAG Awards took place at the Accra International Conference Centre on Saturday, 11th May 2019. The program began with SWAG president Mr Kwabena Yeboah addressing the guests and acknowledging the legendary sports journalist and a great commentator, Mr Joe Lartey for his contribution to Ghana sports who will later be joined by Mr Ebo Quansah to cut the cake for SWAG’S existence.

Thomas Partey dethroned Isaac Dogboe to become the new sports personality of the year as well as the footballer of the year


Rugby player of the year male: Michael Arko.

Rugby player of the year female: Rafatu Inusah.

Hockey player of the year male: Emmanuel Ankomah.

Hockey player of the year female: Mavis Boatemaa Berko.

Boxing promoter of the year: Cabic promotions.

Prospect of the year award: Hor Halutie.

Professional Golfer of the year: Kojo Barnni.

National team of the year: Golden Eagles (Rugby).

Coach of the year: Osei Boakye-Yiadom (GRA Ladies hockey team).

Para athlete of the year: Frederick Assor (para-cycling).

Amateur boxer of the year: Jessie Lartey.

Athlete of the year: Janet Amponsah.

Table tennis player of the year male: Derek Abrefa.

Table tennis player of the year female: Celia Baah Danso.

Armwrestler of the year male: Haruna Tahiru.

Armwrestler of the year female: Alberta Ampomah.

Footballer of the year female:Mukarama Abdulai.

Footballer of the year male: Thomas Teye Partey.

Professional boxer of the year: Richard Oblitey Commey.

Sports personality of the year: Thomas Partey.